PDA

View Full Version : V-drives

WESTERNAERO
02-02-2014, 10:49 AM
V-drive pros, explain manufactures, placement, gearing, 10 vs 12 degree, rebuild procedures, wirl-aways, etc.

Sharp shooter
02-02-2014, 10:59 AM
V-drive pros, explain manufactures, placement, gearing, 10 vs 12 degree, rebuild procedures, wirl-aways, etc.

I'm not an expert but I'll try and give some kind of answer.

There were many manufacturers of the v-drive gear box (is that what you're talking about?). V-Drive "boat" manufacturers number over 100. Because there's so many different types, styles and configurations of v-drive boats it would take a dictionary sized book to list all possible combinations and proper set ups.

The most widely used gear box's came from Casale. They made/make many different configurations. Placement and gearing is boat specific. Rebuilding varies from one box to the next. Whirl-a-ways? What about 'em? :D

If you can narrow down the year, manufacturer and type of boat, we can probably get close in suggesting shaft angle and rigging placement. Gear selection will vary depending on hp, prop and usage needs.

WESTERNAERO
02-02-2014, 11:10 AM
Trying to get the "in the know" guys to educate the curious, the newbies, the just getting started, etc. Lot of "secret knowledge" out there that the "pros" don't seem to want to share to help the newbies and instead just want to make snide remarks and try to intimidate them.

WESTERNAERO
02-02-2014, 11:13 AM
Whirl-away, prop-release, whatever you choose to call it. Tell us what it is Jerry, why they're used, who makes them, we're can they be bought.

westair
02-02-2014, 11:45 AM
Kind of interested on the history of the whirl-away also .... I've had vdrive boats back in the 80's and never heard anything ever mentioned about them. Did anyone have them back then? drag boats? must be pretty ugly coming to a sudden stop at 100+ mph

2manymustangs
02-02-2014, 01:47 PM