Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie from KY--1st Jet Boat

Hey folks!
    Just picked up my first Jet Boat project and through the course of researching what I do (and don't) have, there were multiple references back to this site.
    My background is more automotive related but I got the Jet Boat bug back when I was little watching them fly up and down the river here close to home. I'm new to the Jet Boat game in general but was able to pick up an abandoned project for less than nothing. Its pretty rough but MAY be a good start, I guess I will find out as I move along.
    I was able to acquire a 1977 Sleek Craft. Overall, I like the style of the boat but the interior, engine and just about everything are gone. It does still have a 12JE in place (I was told it was still good) but also came with the remnants of a 12JC. He gave me motor mounts, manifolds, bellhousing and other accessories for a 455 Olds. Overall, I don't really have a "plan" of of yet but I would definitely appreciate any feedback you can give me. In all honesty, I have about $150 in the entire thing the way it sits so if its junk, you wont hurt my feelings!
    Thanks again in advance for your help and feedback!

-John Johnson
    Account Manager
    Ridetech Suspension
    812-481-4737
    jjohnson@ridetech.com

Name:  Resized_20180311_132230.jpeg
Views: 184
Size:  836.2 KB

Name:  Resized_20180311_173732.jpeg
Views: 187
Size:  146.2 KB

Name:  Resized_20180311_173852.jpeg
Views: 184
Size:  797.0 KB

Name:  Resized_20180312_201332.jpeg
Views: 181
Size:  656.9 KB

Name:  Resized_20180312_201138.jpeg
Views: 131
Size:  296.1 KB

Name:  Resized_20180311_161744.jpeg
Views: 178
Size:  976.0 KB

Looks like a project. keep the pics coming.

Big project right there.
    First thing to check is the stringers. Make sure they're solid.
    Sleek Craft's typically have 1/4 stringers or what some call a motor box. If it's a full stringer boat and they're in good condition that's even better.