Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

1966 Howard Walnut deck V drive.

Name:  Howard cleaned up1.jpg
Views: 390
Size:  41.8 KBName:  Howard cleaned up 2.jpg
Views: 386
Size:  39.8 KBI just purchased a 1966 Howard Walnut deck V drive ski boat. Has not seen water since 1984 and was covered with a tarp for years. The gel coat was in pretty bad shape on the walnut deck but a little elbow grease and lacquer thinner brought most of it back to life. Will need a little repair and new top coat but the boat floor and stringers are in amazing shape. It's got a 327 Chevy but its been bored to .060 so it may end up being an anchor. Bottom is perfect. Some delamination between top and hull but not too serious.
    I am new to V Drives. This one has a Thorobred and that may have to go also. Not sure.
    I ran D class Outboards in my youth and had a Sidcraft Utility hull with Merc. 50 HP. Wish I had it again but I doubt my knees would take that abuse again.
    Here is a shot of the boat.
    I am sure I will have a ton of questions as this is my first time and this site appears to have all the experts as members.

Already miss the 310/562 2manymustangs's Avatar
    very nice projectkeepsake topolino, welcome to HB, where it all started

post up some photos of the Vdrive if you don't mind, there is plenty of expertise here to answer most questions... IF the folks here don't know, we know how to get the technical details your after...
    -In a Republic, the sovereignty resides with the people themselves. In a Republic, the government is a servant of the people, and obliged to its owner, We the People..

"Remember, democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet that did not commit suicide." John Adams