Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Let's Smoke Some Meat!

I've been playing around with coal burning firebox smoker for a couple years now. Can't beat the taste of meat cooked with good old fashioned lump coal.
    My next attempt I think is going to be a whole ham. Anyone done one of these before?
    Shoulders, ribs, tri tip, lamp shank, rack of lamb, prime rib, chicken, turkey, Mac n Cheese, pizza...all were delicious.

“Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. The US military doesn’t have that problem.”

Already miss the 310/562 2manymustangs's Avatar
    I did three smallish trout last night with NOTHING on them but some nice GREEN APPLE wood smoke from some small branches I cut off by big trees... I KILLED them biotches...

You may wanna try a "boston butt" (front end - shoulder) versus a ham (bootie end) or a green ham... The boston butt (used for pulled pork) is i feel better since it has the marble of the fat for flava... If you wanna do some ham you could try to find a ham steak that is GREEN (un cured)..

If you do a boston butt/shoulder, plan on a LONG cook and the outside gets crispy/black but after you chop/shread it, and mix it all together that part adds some good flava to the pulled pork... I sometimes do like a 4-5 hour slow cook on the butt and then finish it in the oven OR you can wrap it with foal and keep on roasting it on the grill but at the 4-5 hour mark it will start juicing out the fat and will make a real mess of your grill... U can throw it on a roasting rack inside of a cake pan in the oven cover with foil and finish it for a few more hours until the bone pulls out easily... Killer good stuff...

BUT my fave is to take the boston butt and have it sliced across the bone, then slow roast it for 2-3 hours as a "pork steak" and baste it with some seasoned briney mixture, or italian dressing... THEN sauce it when they are falling apart done...