Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Working on Engines

Personally for me, I do not know the first thing about engines. Unfortunately, I have to take the boat and car to a shop whenever something needs to be done.

I wish they offered auto shop at my high school lol.

Thinking of taking a class at a local CC to start learning about them. I hate that I have to take the boat in for an oil change or simple services.
    I tried a little DIY project last year and it did not turn out very well lol.

So who here does their own Engine work whether it be boat or car?
    Where did you learn to work on the engine?
    Do you do your own boat maintenance?

Already miss the 310/562 2manymustangs's Avatar
    I put my first V8 together when I was still barely 14 and never looked back... Before that it was dirt bikes/go-kart engines...

I graduated to automatic transmissions about 12 years ago...
    -In a Republic, the sovereignty resides with the people themselves. In a Republic, the government is a servant of the people, and obliged to its owner, We the People..

"Remember, democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet that did not commit suicide." John Adams

Quote Originally Posted by riverrunner1984 View Post
    Personally for me, I do not know the first thing about engines. Unfortunately, I have to take the boat and car to a shop whenever something needs to be done.

I wish they offered auto shop at my high school lol.

Thinking of taking a class at a local CC to start learning about them. I hate that I have to take the boat in for an oil change or simple services.
    I tried a little DIY project last year and it did not turn out very well lol.

So who here does their own Engine work whether it be boat or car?
    Where did you learn to work on the engine?
    Do you do your own boat maintenance?