Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Engine Choices- Another ?

I'm still on the lookout for a ride, and I have been running into a wide variety of boats with a number of different motors. I am far from an expert and hoping you guys could help educate me a little more. I know there are some pro's vs. cons, because of the availability of parts, price etc. but beyond that I'm pretty clueless. Any and all help is appreciated. Thoughts, negative and positive on the following packages? I'm not looking to go 100mph, mainly want something that is going to be reliable and fairly easy to work on. Which ones are immediate red flags?

1. Ford 460

2. 455 Olds

3. xxx Chevy (or any other Chevy)

4. xxx Chrysler

5. xxx Pontiac

1. Ford 460

2. 455 Olds Let's start off with taking this one out of your vocabulary if you're even thinking about going over 4,000 RPM's...

3. xxx Chevy (or any other Chevy)

4. xxx Chrysler

5. xxx Pontiac

I am no engine builder but I did do a little research when I had my engine built. I would start with Chevy and Ford for you research then go from there. I am a Chevy guy but I wouldn't hesitate to buy a boat with a Ford in it.

I would take you're 5k and go to Vegas for a weekend of fun...lol

I think it will be a better investment

Nothing cheap about a v drive. If you want a fun toy why not try and find a clean 20 spectra in a jet. Find a guy that dumped 20k into it and steal it for 7k.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2

Quote Originally Posted by Cole Trickle View Post
    I would take you're 5k and go to Vegas for a weekend of fun...lol

I think it will be a better investment

Nothing cheap about a v drive. If you want a fun toy why not try and find a clean 20 spectra in a jet. Find a guy that dumped 20k into it and steal it for 7k.

Iv'e tried that with a much smaller bankroll and it's all good till your'e halfway home and realize how much you actually lost.

Quote Originally Posted by Cole Trickle View Post