PDA

View Full Version : Newbie from KY--1st Jet Boat

JohnJ@Ridetech
03-14-2018, 02:03 PM
Hey folks!
Just picked up my first Jet Boat project and through the course of researching what I do (and don't) have, there were multiple references back to this site.
My background is more automotive related but I got the Jet Boat bug back when I was little watching them fly up and down the river here close to home. I'm new to the Jet Boat game in general but was able to pick up an abandoned project for less than nothing. Its pretty rough but MAY be a good start, I guess I will find out as I move along.
I was able to acquire a 1977 Sleek Craft. Overall, I like the style of the boat but the interior, engine and just about everything are gone. It does still have a 12JE in place (I was told it was still good) but also came with the remnants of a 12JC. He gave me motor mounts, manifolds, bellhousing and other accessories for a 455 Olds. Overall, I don't really have a "plan" of of yet but I would definitely appreciate any feedback you can give me. In all honesty, I have about $150 in the entire thing the way it sits so if its junk, you wont hurt my feelings!
Thanks again in advance for your help and feedback!

-John Johnson
Account Manager
Ridetech Suspension
812-481-4737
jjohnson@ridetech.com

tchb
03-14-2018, 06:31 PM
Looks like a project. keep the pics coming.

76Bonneville
03-14-2018, 10:15 PM
Big project right there.
First thing to check is the stringers. Make sure they're solid.
Sleek Craft's typically have 1/4 stringers or what some call a motor box. If it's a full stringer boat and they're in good condition that's even better.
Also with 1/4 stringer boats, they usually have a subfloor which is part of the structural rigidity and strength of the boat.
I would ditch the Olds for a BBC. So much easier to get parts for a chevy.

K-034
03-15-2018, 04:56 AM
Big project right there.
First thing to check is the stringers. Make sure they're solid.