PDA

View Full Version : Water damage restoration

niceguyeddie
09-22-2014, 02:48 PM
A flood took place in my home due a broken pipe at the neighbor's house.

The remediation company came out, removed a bunch of drywall and quarantined a couple areas of my home. One area being the stairwell to my my living room. How serious is this stuff? Should I pass on through, so I can watch tv and etc or should I really just stay out? This stuff has to stay up til Friday.

riverrunner1984
09-22-2014, 02:53 PM
Im thinking they want to dry is so no mold forms. im sure watching TV would be ok for a couple hours but then again, Im not a pro...lol

niceguyeddie
09-22-2014, 03:06 PM
Im thinking they want to dry is so no mold forms. im sure watching TV would be ok for a couple hours but then again, Im not a pro...lol

I just need to pass through one zippered access to the other to get to the living room. My living room is fine, it's just the stairwell leading to it that is closed off.

HB Vic
09-22-2014, 03:11 PM
People used to live with mold for decades or ions. It wasn't until lawsuits started flying that it because a hit.

Granted, most mold isn't good for you. But unless you snort it, you're probably ok for brief periods of time.

But then again, I'm not a doctor :D

riverrunner1984
09-22-2014, 03:12 PM
I say, go through and watch your TV.
Like HB basically said, they are doing it to cover their ass.

niceguyeddie
09-22-2014, 03:23 PM
Thanks, Yea I figured it was just some liability thing. I can't see how just passing through there is going to cause physical harm.

Stainless
09-22-2014, 03:58 PM
Can't advise to the mold safety, of course I have my opinion,lol.

I will testify that these remediation company's are doing well though. Had it happen 10 years ago and they billed insurance co about 17K for dry out and repairs.

CH3NO2

HB Vic
09-22-2014, 04:11 PM
I wouldn't worry about it. I lived with mold for years. :action-smiley-060:

HB Vic
09-22-2014, 04:44 PM