PDA

View Full Version : Working on Engines

riverrunner1984
03-06-2014, 11:02 AM
Personally for me, I do not know the first thing about engines. Unfortunately, I have to take the boat and car to a shop whenever something needs to be done.

I wish they offered auto shop at my high school lol.

Thinking of taking a class at a local CC to start learning about them. I hate that I have to take the boat in for an oil change or simple services.
I tried a little DIY project last year and it did not turn out very well lol.

So who here does their own Engine work whether it be boat or car?
Where did you learn to work on the engine?
Do you do your own boat maintenance?

2manymustangs
03-06-2014, 11:11 AM
I put my first V8 together when I was still barely 14 and never looked back... Before that it was dirt bikes/go-kart engines...

I graduated to automatic transmissions about 12 years ago...

obnoxious001
03-06-2014, 11:14 AM
Personally for me, I do not know the first thing about engines. Unfortunately, I have to take the boat and car to a shop whenever something needs to be done.

Thinking of taking a class at a local CC to start learning about them. I hate that I have to take the boat in for an oil change or simple services.

I build engines(most for boats, but some other various racing engines, as well as high performance street engines). It's not rocket science but requires attention to detail and a certain amount of knowledge. I got interested when I was a kid and my dad used to help Lou Brummett racing at the boat marathons. Louis Unser was building his engines back then, and "Unser" was a household name around racing, and I met him on one of my many visits to the shop. My family never owned a boat, but as soon as I bought my first one, I have never been without one.

Brian