PDA

View Full Version : MS Excel ?

Stainless
10-01-2013, 01:15 PM
Is there another way to populate columns with the same info other than right click, copy, highlight, and paste? Sometimes I have maybe 5 cells to fill and think there should be a faster way to do it with the control or shift key. I'm relatively new to Excel.

riverrunner1984
10-01-2013, 01:41 PM
Wish I can help but I absolutely hate Excel!!!
Maybe youtube.com???

HB Vic
10-01-2013, 01:55 PM
Not sure I understand what you're asking. But if you have data in A1, you should be able to click the bottom right lower in cell A1, hold it, and drag it across to the right.

Stainless
10-01-2013, 02:00 PM
Not sure I understand what you're asking. But if you have data in A1, you should be able to click the bottom right lower in cell A1, hold it, and drag it across to the right.
That works, Thanks HB!

Stainless
10-01-2013, 02:03 PM
How about when entering a date? It wants to progress to next day. Can I change something to copy same date?

HB Vic
10-01-2013, 02:06 PM
How about when entering a date? It wants to progress to next day. Can I change something to copy same date?

You should be able to insert the absolute reference sign ($). You may have to enter it more than once depending on what you're doing.

Stainless
10-01-2013, 02:07 PM
Ok, for dates if you enter twice and then grab the cross it copies same date.

HB Vic
10-01-2013, 02:08 PM

You can also enter the same data in two cells, say A1 & B1, highlight both cells, then drag the lower right across to the left.

Stainless
10-01-2013, 02:10 PM
You can also enter the same data in two cells, say A1 & B1, highlight both cells, then drag the lower right across to the left.
Yea, I figured that out in post 7. What is the absolute reference? Sorry I'm self teaching here.

HB Vic
10-01-2013, 02:15 PM
Yea, I figured that out in post 7. What is the absolute reference? Sorry I'm self teaching here.