PDA

View Full Version : Out of state tuition

Joker
10-25-2012, 07:27 AM
So, I want my daughter to attend ASU or U of A.
If she's a ca resident but I'm a az resident, can she be considered in state or do I need to be paying taxes in az?

HB Vic
10-25-2012, 07:42 AM
If you have az license pay az taxes and are registered to vote in az you might be ok. When our son went to ASU we paid 50% more because we were out of state. It's worth any hassle they might throw in front of you. Good luck.

big warlock
10-25-2012, 10:33 AM
I think you are ok if you are a resident. She should be in as well.

jordy
10-25-2012, 10:46 AM
If she's a ca resident but I'm a az resident, can she be considered in state or do I need to be paying taxes in az?

Not sure how you can be an AZ resident and not pay taxes here... I believe that's one of the things they use to determine residency.

Here's the information from ASU's website:

https://students.asu.edu/residency_classification_guidelines

In general, to be classified a resident for tuition purposes, a student must:
•Demonstrate lawful presence as required by Arizona state law.
•Document continuous physical presence in Arizona for at least 12 months prior to the semester of application
•Provide evidence of simultaneous acts of intent to make Arizona the student’s permanent home and severance of all ties to the previous state of residence. Acts occurring less than one year before the last day of registration may not be considered evidence of intent to establish domicile in Arizona.
•Demonstrate the ability to meet all living and educational expenses from self-generated funds under the student’s control for the last two tax years and document that the student has not been claimed as a tax dependent by anyone for the last two years.