PDA

View Full Version : Issue getting on plane and engine turning off under load.

riverrunner1984
05-06-2013, 11:21 AM
Good Morning,
Let me start by saying I am not very experienced when it comes to engines and feel that with with my limited knowledge I am vulnerable just going to a mechanic and having them tell me what is wrong with my boat. So all advice/suggestions is very much appreciated.

I have a 1995 19ft commander open bow with a 454 and jet drive.
The boat has not been in the water in 2 yrs as I have has financial hard ship and could not pay for the repairs.
The last time I had it out, it ran fine out of water. As soon as I put it in water, and have it some throttle, it would die.

Prior to that, when it was in the water running, when ever I gave it throttle, it would seriously take a couple min to get up and plane out, like the engine was not producing enough power to get up on plane.

I have heard this could be a Carburetor issue. The boat has an 4 barrel quadra jet carb.
Does the carb sound like the issue? Should I replace the carb since they do not make quadra jet anymore?

Thanks in advance!

WMC
05-06-2013, 11:41 AM
Sound like Carb to me as it has been sitting. You could get carb rebuilt or put a holley on. Where's your boat located? We have a lot of good shops on this site that could help you out. Welcome to Hotboat.com

Menace Marine
05-06-2013, 12:12 PM
Sounds like carb issues. Obviously can't say for sure without seeing it but the symptoms suggest carb or fuel issues. Nothing wrong with a quadrajet. They can be rebuilt and continue to work for a lot of years.
I understand the hesitancy to take it to a shop and be told you need to spend a bunch of money. I'm not sure where you are located but I would be happy to take a quick look at it for you at no charge. Maybe it will be something simple. Once we know the problem I can fix it for you or would be happy to give you advice on how to do it yourself.

Menace Marine
05-06-2013, 12:15 PM